This expression is used when the first part of the sentence raises an opportunity or condition for the second part of the sentence. Let’s look at some examples.

 

Examples

1)

A: 휴가 때 어디 가세요?

Where are you going over the vacation?

B: 가족들이랑 부산에 갈 거예요.

I’ll go to Busan with my family.

A: 부산에 맛있는 것이 많다고 들었어요!

I heard there is a lot of good food there!

B: 네, 맞아요. 그리고 부산에 가는 김에 배도 타 보려고요.

Yes, there is. And while I’m there, I’ll take a ship.

A: 재미있겠네요. 사진 많이 찍으세요!

Sounds like fun. Take lots of pics!

2)

A: 좋은 일이 있나 봐요.

You look excited.

B: 네, 저녁에 소개팅이 있어요. 이따 미용실에 갈 거예요.

Yeah, I’m going on a blind date this evening. I’m gonna go to a beauty salon later.

A: 정말이요? 저도 이따 미용실 가요. 유명한 곳 아는데 같이 갈래요?

Really? I’m going to a beauty salon, too. I know a famous place. Do you wanna join?

B: 좋아요! 전 미용실에 가는 김에 화장도 부탁할까 생각 중이에요. 거기 화장도 해주나요?

Sure! I’m thinking about also getting a make-up, while I’m there. Do they do make-ups, too?

A: 네. 저까지 신나네요. 예약해 놓을게요.

Yes, they do. You are making me excited, too. I’ll make an appointment.

B: 고마워요. 이따 문자 할게요!

Thanks. I’ll text you later!

3)

A: 강남에 새로 생긴 식당이 있는데 유명하대요.

I heard a new restaurant opened in Gangnam and it’s popular.

B: 메뉴가 뭔데요?

What do they have?

A: 초밥과 라면이 같이 나온대요. 둘 다 제가 좋아하는 거라서 나중에 한번 가 보려고요.

A set of Sushi and ramen. I like them both, so I’m thinking about going there sometime.

B: 특이한 조합의 메뉴네요. 말이 나온 김에 오늘 같이 가 볼래요?

That’s an interesting combination. Now that you’ve mentioned it, do you want to try the place today?

A: 네. 좋아요!

Sure. I like it!

4)

A: 이 근처에 씨티 은행이 있나요?

Is there a City bank near here?

B: 네. 있긴 한데 조금 멀리 있어요. 꼭 오늘 가야 하나요?

Yes. There is one, but it’s a bit far. Do you have to go today?

A: 네. 외국에 돈을 보내야 해서요. 가는 김에 통장도 하나 만들고요.

Yes. I need to send money abroad. While I’m at the place, I will also open an account.

B: 점심시간에는 사람이 많으니까 10분 정도 일찍 출발하세요.

It’s crowded during the lunch time, so leave 10 min. early.

A: 네. 고마워요.

Okay. Thanks.

5)

A: 방이 정말 어지럽다.

My room is really a mess.

B: 주말에 방 정리 좀 해.

Tidy it up over the weekend, seriously.

A: 응, 그러려고. 하는 김에 옷장도 정리해야겠다.

Yeah, I’ll. While I am doing it, I will sort through my wardrobe, too.

B: 그래. 정리하는 김에 필요 없는 옷은 다 버려.

Yeah. While sorting through the wardrobe, throw away unnecessary clothes.

Quiz

Please translate the following sentences into Korean.

  1. While I am learning Korean, I will also study Japanese.

→ ______________________________________________________________.

  1. While I am washing my clothes, let me wash yours, too.

→ ______________________________________________________________.

  1. While I am shopping for clothes, I’ll also buy some shoes.

→ ______________________________________________________________.

  1. Can you tell Jason that I say hi to Katy, while playing golf with him?

→ ______________________________________________________________.

  1. While you wash your mugs, could you wash mine, too?

→ ______________________________________________________________.

tutor-k-%eb%a1%9c%ea%b3%a0-%ec%a0%9c%ec%9e%91 Meet Korean tutors!

