This expresses the purpose of an action and is usually combined with verbs such as ‘가다,’ ‘오다,’ and ‘다니다.’ If there is a final consonant, use –으러, and if not, use –러.

Case 1. There is NO final consonant

Example sentences

공부하다

친구가 공부하 도서관에 옵니다.

My friend is coming to the library to study.

한국어를 공부하 한국에 갑니다.

I am going to Korea to study Korean.

수학을 공부하 학원에 다닙니다.

I go to Hakwon to study math.

보다

영화를 보 극장에 갑니다.

I go to the theater to watch a movie.

친구가 저를 보 옵니다.

My friend is coming to see me.

바다를 보 부산에 갑니다.

I am going to Busan to see the sea.

사다

가방을 사 백화점에 갑니다.

I am going to a department store to buy a bag.

약을 사 약국에 갑니다.

I am going to a drugstore to buy medicine.

책을 사 서점에 갑니다.

I am going to a bookstore to buy books.

Case 2. There is a final consonant

Example sentences

먹다

밥 먹으러 집에 갑니다.

I am going home to eat.

점심 먹으러 식당에 갑니다.

I am going to a restaurant to eat lunch.

아이스크림 먹으러 아이스크림 가게에 갑니다.

I am going to an ice cream shop to eat ice cream.

씻다

으러 집에 일찍 갑니다.

I am going home early to take a bath.

화장실에 씻으러 들어갑니다.

I am going into the bathroom to wash.

손을 씻으러 화장실에 갑니다.

I am going to the bathroom to wash my hands.

받다

전화를 받으러 사무실에 갑니다.

I am going to the office to take the call.

주문한 책을 받으러 서점에 갑니다.

I am going to the bookstore to receive the book I ordered.

상을 받으러 학교에 갑니다.

I am going to school to win the prize.

Quiz

Make a sentence with the given verb, using –(으)러.

Example) 타다

지하철을 타러 갑니다.

  1. 주다 (to give)

________________________________________________________.

  1. 듣다 (to listen)

________________________________________________________.

  1. 적다 (to write)

________________________________________________________.

  1. 빌리다 (to borrow)

________________________________________________________.

  1. 만들다 (to make)

________________________________________________________.

tutor-k-%eb%a1%9c%ea%b3%a0-%ec%a0%9c%ec%9e%91  Meet Korean tutors!

